Are you looking at the right things (is your style right for you)

Do you really know why you trade the way you do?  The style (indicators, timeframe etc)?  Most people don’t. They begin to learn certain indicators or styles because they want to trade and that was the educational module they saw. The ad said the trader had huge returns using this so it must be the way to do it!  Not necessarily. Maybe its great for him and others but it might not be for you.
     The or problem is that most traders plod on and just keep trying and tweaking that a little bit, while the losses and frustration mount. Worse yet they dive right into another system or style. They may need to but unless they identify what the base problem is first its likely more waste. You have to be a bit introspective here. Personal strengths and weaknesses are important to see
     This will sound goofy but its true. My time spent in the ring both fighting and coaching has been a huge help in this job. Long ago I was professional fighter and today I still train both pro fighters and traditional martial arts students. Its a labor of love thing as the market is my job, but still a big part of my life.
   It serves me in trading in two ways. As a fighter I’m not biggest guy or most powerful, but I can read motion well. I adapt and let the setup come my way. It worked well for me. As a trainer and coach I look for that advantage in fighters.  Not every technique works well for every fighter. The basics of it are the same, but reach and speed may make something not in Hus best interest. Training traders is the same. Identify the mistakes, see if they are correctable. If not, they may need to adapt to a different trading space.
      Spend some time thinking about why you do what you do. You won’t be sorry. Check our services page. If you aren’t ready for a full trade review yet, look at the the trade blotter/diary and trader check list. If you use them they force you to put the thought into what you are doing. They came with an explanation as well which can also help you find your way. Plus they are extremely inexpensive. https://fxblend.wordpress.com/professional-services/
       Be nimble. Be aware.

Published by

Bob Tompkins

My old bio was way too long!! in short, I've trained martial arts for over 35 years. I own Team Transcend Martial arts and use my experience as former pro kickboxer to help others. spent 20 years on Wall Street, and now use all of it to write about lifestyle and help promote companies and places. Training, travel and drinks plus general lifestyle. contact me for marketing/promotion and also personal coaching. tompkinscontent@gmail.com

One thought on “Are you looking at the right things (is your style right for you)”

Leave a comment